Under Connecticut law, you’re required to have car insurance liability limits of at least 20/40/10, UM and UIM. What does this mean? It means:
$20,000 per person, for bodily injury you cause
$40,000 per accident, for bodily injury, and
$10,000 per accident, for damage to another’s property, usually their car.
Uninsured(UM) and Underinsured Motorist (UIM) Coverage of:
$20,000 per person, and
$40,000 per accident.
UM and UIM covers bodily injury to you, your relatives who live with you and your passengers if they are injured in an accident caused by an uninsured motorist, a motorist whose bodily injury liability limits are less than your uninsured/underinsured motorist limits or a hit-and-run driver. The standard coverage is an amount equal to your bodily injury liability coverage, but you may purchase additional coverage up to an amount double your bodily injury liability.
Proof of Insurance
If you’re stopped by a law enforcement officer, you must present an insurance identification card showing that the car is insured. Your auto insurance company must provide you with an identification card when they issue or renew your car insurance liability policy. At your request, the company will provide a card or temporary proof of insurance for each car covered under your policy and if you purchase your insurance from InstantCarInsurance.com or Ensurance.com you can also print your ID cards online instantly and for free.
The insurance identification card includes the name of the insurance company, the policy number, and the policy’s effective and expiration dates. It also includes a description of the insured car(s) and/or the name of the insured driver.
If you do not carry proof of insurance and you are stopped by law enforcement, the state of Connecticut considers it a traffic infraction. You can receive a fine and it may go on your driving record. The courts could also add other unwanted fees to your fine so always keep a current (up to date) proof of insurance id in the car with you at all times.