Home | Contact

12/18/2017
InstantCarInsurance.com InstantCarInsurance.com
Car Insurance News | State DMV Information | Tips and Advice | Health Insurance | Life Insurance | Personal Insurance
"No Pushy Sales People!"®

Massachusetts Auto Insurance Requirements
by Doug Cohen

There's good news, Mass drivers! While the price of car insurance in Massachusetts is not cheap, if you comparison shop online it's easy to find affordable car insurance without sacrificing coverage. But before you do, know what's required and what's optional to help you make a more informed decision.

Quote Now
Comparison Shop 15 Insurers Instantly
No Broker Fees, Ever!
Location:
Start A Quote
Return to Previous Quote
Canada Insurance   Privacy Statement

What is the Mandatory Auto Insurance Law in Massachusetts?
In 1927 Massachusetts became the first state to require the purchase of auto liability insurance. And Massachusetts law still requires all drivers, whether in Boston, Worcester, Springfield, Lowell, Cambridge or somewhere in between, to have a car insurance liability policy with at least the required minimum limits.

What are those required minimums in the Bay State?
Mass law requires us to carry the following car insurance coverage and limits:

Liability Coverage (mandatory):
$20,000 per person, for bodily injury,
$40,000 per accident, for bodily injury, and
$ 5,000 per accident, for damage to anotherís property, usually their car.

Personal Injury Protection, aka PIP or No Fault (mandatory):
$8,000 of medical and loss of income expenses.

Uninsured / Underinsured Motorist (optional):
$20,000 per person
$40,000 per accident, minimum. However, according to a study done by the Insurance Information Institute, Massachusetts has the lowest reported record of uninsured motorists (1%) and so, statistically speaking, it is unlikely that you will need Uninsured Motorist coverage but you may likely need Under-Insured coverage if the driver at fault does not have enough liability insurance to cover you and your passenger's medical bills.

Comprehensive (optional):
Covers physical damage to your auto that results from non-collision damage, subject often times to a deductible.

Collision (optional):
Covers damage to your car that results from a collision with another car or object, subject to a deductible.

Proof of Insurance
While it's helpful to keep current proof of Massachusetts auto insurance in the car with you at all times, Massachusetts law does not currently require you to carry it with you.

Your Massachusetts car insurance company will provide this card when they issue or renew your car insurance liability policy.

Any time you request it, the insurance company will provide you this card for free for each car covered under your policy and if you get a free auto quote and purchase your insurance from InstantCarInsurance.com or from Ensurance.com you can also print your free ID cards instantly online, anytime of day.

The insurance ID card includes the name of the Massachusetts car insurance company, 800 claims number, the insurance policy number, and the insurance policy effective and expiration dates. It also includes a description of the insured car(s) and the name(s) of the insured driver(s).

Massachusetts has mandatory, or compulsory financial responsibility laws that are easily satisfied through buying car insurance from a Massachusetts Licensed Insurance Company. All registered cars and trucks are required to have minimum liability coverage, although InstantCarInsurance.com recommends that you buy higher limits and additional types of coverage as is affordable for you.

Should coverage lapse while registration is still current, the Mass DMV may assess penalties, fines, or even suspend the car registration. Insurance companies in Massachusetts report this data directly to the State so don't be surprised if you miss the insurance payments and a letter from the State appears in the mail.

And last but not least, you must obtain insurance from a Massachusetts-licensed company and it must be stamped for registration.

Where can I find a licensed Massachusetts Auto Insurance Company?
The easiest way to find affordable Massachusetts car insurance is to simply go to the top of this page to begin a quote and by completing one application you will be shopping across 15 car insurance companies instantly.

How to Find the Best Auto Insurance Rates in Massachusetts
We cannot say it enough! It is so important to comparison shop for the best coverage in Massachusetts at the lowest, most affordable price. Let's face it, Massachusetts auto insurance is not cheap! But there are many online resources that provide free quotes from licensed Massachusetts insurance companies approved by the Massachusetts DMV.

If you think you may be paying too much for auto insurance, Massachusetts residents can save time and money by comparing car insurance quotes quickly and anonymously between all the top name auto insurance carriers simply by logging on to InstantCarInsurance.com.

Just remember, the State of Massachusetts requires minimum car insurance liability limits of 20/40/5 and 8k PIP limits as long as you have a valid Massachusetts car registration. Keep this in mind when shopping for basic coverage and evaluate it against car insurance quotes with higher coverage limits for a little more money. Cheap car insurance is not always the best car insurance.

The Massachusetts Insurance Department recommends the following tips for lowering your auto insurance bill:

Shopping for Personal Automobile Insurance
Gather information you'll need before you begin to shop. Be reminded that the cheapest deal isn't always the best deal. Good insurance value means finding the right price, best coverage, and quality service.

  • Answer all questions truthfully and correctly.
  • Check to see what discounts can save you money.
  • Make sure the premium charge quotes you get are for the same term and coverage. For example, not all companies will offer the same options and deductibles.
  • Decide what you need before shopping.

Tips For Lowering Your Premium

  • Shop around often and compare prices.
  • Maintain a good driving record.
  • Take the highest deductible you can afford on collision and comprehensive coverage.
  • On cars with market value less than $3,000, consider carrying only liability coverages.
  • Pay your premium well in advance of the due date. No grace period applies to automobile insurance.
  • Review your policy periodically and update coverage accordingly.

For parents of teen-aged drivers: If your teenagers donít own cars, try naming them on your policy as occasional operators of your least expensive cars. Many insurers will allow you to name them as an occasional driver if they donít drive to and from school or work. If they do own cars, try to cover them under your policy. This would also qualify you for a multi-car discount. The total cost still is not going to be cheap, but it should be cheaper than if they buy a policy on their own.

It is important that you report actual driving habits to the company. Still, itís not uncommon today for the insurer to have juveniles automatically assigned to your most expensive car. These carriers are to be avoided if possible.

Check into discounts for a driverís education course or good academic record. If the young driver goes to school more than 100 miles away - without a car - another discount may apply.

Advice to Young Singles on their own: Avoid high performance or "turbo cars." A turbo engine can add more than 10 percent to your premium.

Advice to Older people: Take a defensive-driving course thatís approved by the State Board of Education or National Safety Council. You may earn a 5 to 15 percent discount off of your premium.

Ask About Discounts
Ask your insurance agent or company if you are eligible for any discounts. Here are some discounts you should ask about:

  • Two or more cars on a policy
  • Motor Vehicle Accident Prevention Course
  • Driver Education Courses
  • Good student drivers under age 25
  • Mature driver (between 50 and 65 years of age)
  • Airbags, anti-lock braking system, and other safety equipment
  • Anti-theft devices
  • Low mileage
  • Carpooler
  • Clean driving record
  • Accident free record
  • Auto/home insurance on same policy or with same company (aka: Multi-policy discount)

One last tip: Shop, and shop often! Why? Most people don't realize insurance companies typically change rates twice monthly. Therefore we strongly recommend that you save your quote, making it simple to return and re-rate your cars on the 1st and the 16th of each month - just to be sure you're still getting the best deal and the lowest, cheapest price you can find on line for car insurance! Why not? Itís fast, easy, and free!



Instant Car Insurance Quotes Online From Multiple Insurance Carriers!
Home | Contact Us | Privacy | Terms of Use | Site Map | Glossary | Links | Corporate Site
Other online services offered by Ensurance.com
Health Insurance, Individual Health Insurance, Group Health Insurance, Life Rater, Business Insurance, Homeowners Insurance,
Contractors Insurance, Workers Comp Insurance, Earthquake Insurance

Copyright © 2011-2014 Ensurance.com, LLC. All rights reserved