|Home | Contact|
|Car Insurance News | State DMV Information | Tips and Advice | Health Insurance | Life Insurance | Personal Insurance|
|"No Pushy Sales People!"®|
Ohio Auto Insurance Requirements
Section 4509.101 of the Ohio Revised Code prohibits an individual from operating a motor vehicle in Ohio without maintaining proof of FR (some type of Financial Responsibility) continuously throughout the registration period with respect to that vehicle, or, in the case of a driver who is not the owner, with respect to that driver's operation of that vehicle. The law requires financial responsibility in the minimum amount of $12,500 for bodily injury to, or death of, one (1) individual in any one (1) accident, $25,000 for bodily injury to, or death of, two (2) or more individuals in any one (1) accident, and $7,500 for damage to the property of others in any one (1) accident.
Now, that ain't much!
If you look at accident stats and the average dollar amount sustained in a car crash, those amounts will likely be inadequate, but it is a start. These are just the minimum limits required to register and operate a car in the State of Ohio.
Read more below for details, helpful tips, information, and definitions with more tips and advice on auto insurance in Ohio state.
How to Find the Best Auto Insurance Rates in Ohio
It is very important to comparison shop for the best coverage at the lowest rates. There are many on line resources that provide free quotes from licensed Ohio insurance companies with policies approved by the State of Ohio BMV. If you think you may be paying too much for auto insurance, residents of Ohio can save time and money by comparing car insurance quotes quickly and anonymously between top name Ohio auto insurance carriers simply by logging on to sites like InstantCarInsurance.com. The State of Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles requires minimum auto insurance coverage, or proof of financial responsibility (for bodily injury liability of $12,500 per person, $25,000 per crash, and $7,500 property damage liability, per crash) as long as you have a valid Ohio car registration.
Keep this in mind when shopping for basic coverage and evaluate it against car insurance quotes with higher coverage for a little more money. The cheapest car insurance is not always the best car insurance. Bear in mind, there were 42,642 people who died last year in car crashes (that's 5 people every hour, or 1 person every 12 minutes) and 230 children were killed simply from being backed over, run over by cars that rolled out of park, or other means. Would $12,500 cover your liability if you killed someone? What about if they were seriously injured by your car? Chances are this would not be enough.
Specifically, what type of auto insurance is required at the time of an accident from a person causing a crash?
What is " Bodily Injury Liability" insurance?
What is "Property Damage Liability" insurance?
Will I be required to verify proof of car insurance in Ohio?
Do they really check this?
The BMV is required to send written notice by regular mail to the owner of each vehicle randomly selected, informing the owner that proof showing financial responsibility coverage was in effect on the date specified must be submitted within 21 days of the mailing of the notice. This notification is sent to the person at the person's last known address as shown on the records of the BMV.
How do I respond if I am "randomly selected?"
Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles
The phone number for questions is 1-866-835-6305
What if my car is broken down or I am simply not using it and the BMV asks for proof of auto insurance or financial responsibility which I do not have?
What is the penalty if I fail to maintain the required insurance or FR on my car?
Failure to provide proof of financial responsibility, when required, will result in the following civil penalties imposed by the Ohio Registrar of Motor Vehicles:
Driving and registration privileges cannot be restored until all requirements of the suspension have been met.
If my driving privilege is suspended because I am not properly insured, is there a penalty to reinstate my license?
Tip: You can always get proof of insurance quickly on-line in Ohio to use as proof of auto insurance and it is easy to obtain here directly from InstantCarInsurance.com.
Must I buy auto insurance to satisfy the Financial Responsibility (FR) requirements?
Helpful Tip: Should you choose the first option, try getting multiple quotes quickly and easily from InstantCarInsurance.com even if your auto insurance policy has lapsed and cannot be reinstated, or if you have been driving with no car insurance. This way you get back on track with your coverage immediately and return to compliance. It's simple, easy, fast, and a great way to lower your bills.
What should I do if I am involved in an automobile crash?
Other good suggestions include:
If you are involved in an auto crash without insurance or other FR proof, additional penalties may apply. You may have a security suspension for two (2) years or more and a judgment suspension for an indefinite period until the judgment is settled.
Other important advice: If you are involved in a crash in which any party is injured or property damages exceed $400, you may file a BMV Crash Report (form BMV 3303). This is regardless of who was at fault. You should contact your insurance agent as soon as possible. This form is not the same as the report taken by law enforcement officers at the crash scene. In addition, you may file a Crash Report if you know, or have reason to believe, the other party was uninsured.
You should have your mechanic document any damage to your vehicle, and your insurance company attest to your insurance coverage. Also supply as much information as you have on the other party such as name, social security number, address, driver license number, plate number, make and model of car. Through the vehicle crash report, the Bureau will determine if the other party has insurance. If the other party is not insured, a letter of suspension will be sent to them. If the other party caused the damages, they may have their license suspended until they pay (or until they make arrangements to pay) your damages.
If I am approached by the at-fault party regarding releases, what should I do?
Settlements for damages are at your discretion. However, if you have been compensated by your auto insurance company for any damages or injuries sustained in the car crash, never sign a release or any document without consulting your car insurance company. When the car insurance company compensates you for your damages, they are vested with subrogation rights against the at-fault party. If you sign a release document you could be liable for monies paid to you by your auto insurance company.
For More Financial Responsibility Information Contact:
Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles
Instant Car Insurance Quotes Online From Multiple Insurance Carriers!
Contact Us |
Site Map |
Other online services offered by Ensurance.com
Health Insurance, Individual Health Insurance, Group Health Insurance, Life Rater, Business Insurance, Homeowners Insurance,
Contractors Insurance, Workers Comp Insurance, Earthquake Insurance
Copyright © 2011-2014 Ensurance.com, LLC. All rights reserved